News Release

For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:
Sergeant Michael B. Webb
Kentucky State Police
Public Affairs Branch
Office (502) 782-1780

"Trooper Clinton Cunningham Memorial Highway"
Kentucky 1986 Dedicated in Madison County

Richmond, KY - Kentucky State Police Commissioner Patrick Simpson, Senator David Karem, Senator Ed Worley, and the family of Trooper Clinton Cunningham unveiled the sign naming KY 1986 in Madison County the "Trooper Clinton E. Cunningham Memorial Highway". KY 1986 was named in honor and memory of Trooper Cunningham. Trooper Cunningham was ambushed, shot and killed in Franklin County on April 6, 1976.

This roadway was named as a result of passage of Senate Bill 18 by the 2002 Kentucky General Assembly and was signed into law on March 20, 2002, by Governor Paul E. Patton. Senators David Karem and Ed Worley were instrumental in passage of this bill honoring all Kentucky State Police officers killed in the line of duty.

"The death of Trooper Clint Cunningham was a great loss to this community and all of Kentucky. He was a gentleman and a great police officer who was dedicated to his family, his parents, and his profession," stated Senator Ed Worley who was on hand for the ceremony.

"It is our hope that this sign, as well as the 22 others that will be erected across the Commonwealth, serve as a permanent reminder to all of us of the courage and commitment Kentucky State Troopers face every day," remarked Commissioner Simpson.

Additional signs will be unveiled over the next few months honoring all 23 Kentucky State Police officers killed in the line of duty. Notification will be provided when each sign is erected. Below is a list of 13 of the 23 locations. Locations for ten fallen troopers are pending.

A ceremony will be held in Henderson, Kentucky on Friday, November 1, 2002, for the naming of the KY 425 bypass as the "Trooper Mack E. Brady Memorial Highway". The ceremony is scheduled for 10:00 a.m. CST.

Officer Name County Highway Milepoint Numbers
Trooper Harold J. Toll Anderson County US 127 BYPASS 6.175 - 11.120
Trooper Lee T. Huffman Metcalfe County KY 218 Entire County0.000 - 3.451
Trooper William E. Tevis Pulaski County KY 461 Entire County0.000 - 8.441
Trooper Delano G. Powell Henry County US 42 Jefferson through Henry Counties
Trooper Mack E. Brady Henderson County KY 425 Bypass Entire Roadway0.00 - 6.201
Trooper Walter O. Thurtell Logan County KY 431 1.485 - 14.887
Lieutenant William C. Smith Warren County US-31W 9.000 - 10.567
Trooper John Hutchison Wayne County KY 90 Entire County0.000 - 25.235
Trooper Bobby McCoun Anderson County US 127 1.940 - 6.175
Trooper William F. Pickard Larue County KY 61 8.031 - 13.603
Trooper Clinton E. Cunningham Madison County KY 1986 Entire Roadway0.000 - 10.464
Trooper Edward R. Harris Hardin County KY 3005 (Ring Road) Entire Roadway0.000 - 8.674
Trooper Johnny Edrington Taylor County US 68 Entire County0.000 - 13.531

Last Update: