News Release

For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:
Sergeant Michael B. Webb
Kentucky State Police
Public Affairs Branch
Office (502) 782-1780

Four KSP Officers Promoted

Date of Release: 02/24/05

FRANKFORT, Ky. (Feb. 24, 2005) - The Kentucky State Police (KSP) announced the promotion of four officers during a ceremony held today at the Kentucky State Police Headquarters in Frankfort.

Image of Major Vanhook with CommissionerCapt. James Vanhook was promoted to major. A resident of Somerset, Vanhook was previously commander of the London Post. A 19-year KSP veteran, he is now assigned as the assistant director in the Administrative Division at KSP Headquarters in Frankfort.



Image of Captain Berthold with CommissionerLt. Deron Berthold was promoted to captain and assigned as commander of the Legislative Security Branch. Berthold, a resident of Elizabethtown, has been with KSP for 14 years. He previously was assigned to the Elizabethtown Post.


Image of Lieutenant Johnson with CommissionerSgt. Bobby Johnson was promoted to lieutenant. Johnson, who was with East Drug Enforcement/Special Investigations, has been assigned to the Harlan Post. Johnson, who has been with KSP for 16 years, resides in Stanville in Floyd County.



Image of Sergeant Woods with CommissionerTpr. Randy Woods, an officer at the Pikeville Post, was promoted to sergeant and is now assigned to the Mayfield Post. He's been with KSP for seven years. His residence is in Harold in Floyd County.

Last Update: