News Release

For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:
Sergeant Michael B. Webb
Kentucky State Police
Public Affairs Branch
Office (502) 782-1780

Thirty-Six Cadets Graduate From Kentucky State Police Academy

Date of Release: 03/25/05

Image of the 36 Troopers who graduating(FRANKFORT, Ky.)-Thirty-six new state troopers received diplomas during Kentucky State Police Academy graduation ceremonies today in Frankfort. With their addition to the force, the agency strength reaches a total of 966 sworn officers serving the citizens of the commonwealth.

"Today, these cadets cross into the Thin Gray Line, and become a part of one of the state's premier law enforcement agencies," said Lieutenant Governor Steve Pence, secretary of the Justice and Public Safety Cabinet. "Completing the Kentucky State Police Academy is a rigorous endeavor that requires patience, sacrifice and a deep commitment to a greater service. The commonwealth proudly recognizes the accomplishments of these dedicated individuals and welcomes them into the ranks of the Kentucky State Police."

"The distinctive gray uniform and campaign hat of the Kentucky State Police are earned, not given," said Kentucky State Police Commissioner Mark Miller. "Last October, the cadets in this class started 22 weeks of training. They faced many mental, physical and emotional challenges since then. Thirty-six cadets completed the training and graduated today. They deserve a salute for achieving this goal."

"Recruiting and training new troopers is a constant effort," Miller added. "Last year, 44 sworn officers retired from the agency. Forty have retired since this current class started training. To maintain our strength and quality standards, we're always looking for good people who want to make a difference with a career as a Kentucky state trooper."

Several members of the class earned special recognition including valedictorian John Hawkins, of Gautier, Miss. and salutatorian Andy Olson, of Greensburg, Ky. Jason McLellan, of Feds Creek, Ky., received the Ernie Bivens Award, an honor presented to the cadet who, in the opinion of the Kentucky State Police Academy staff supported by input from the cadets themselves, distinguishes themself as a class leader, strives for academic excellence and has excelled in all phases of the academy's physical and vocational training.

The following is a list of the new troopers, their hometowns and their duty assignments:

Cadet Hometown Assignment
Toney Allen Berea Morehead
Jim Anderson Pikeville Pikeville
Eric Barnett Corbin Dry Ridge
Eric Bowman Cynthiana Campbellsburg
Jason Brown Louisville Campbellsburg
Chris Burton Corbin Morehead
John Collins Banner Pikeville
Jay Cottrell Hopkinsville Morehead
Michael Davis Springfield Henderson
Michael Dennis Oak Grove Mayfield
Michael Fogleman Maysville Morehead
Joe Gregory Lewisburg Mayfield
John Hawkins Gautier, Miss. Dry Ridge
Paul Herron Owensboro Henderson
Austin Hicks Pinetop Pikeville
Keith Howard S. Webster, Ohio Morehead
Kevin Johnson Louisville Campbellsburg
Zachary Jones Winslow, Ind. Henderson
Daniel Jones Scottsville Mayfield
Dan Kneaskern Johnson City, Tenn. Dry Ridge
William Lake Berea Morehead
Jason Lanham Dawson Springs Bowling Green
Brian Lee Liberty Pikeville
Jason McLellan Feds Creek Pikeville
Brandon McPherson Belton Bowling Green
James Newkirk Brownsville Pikeville
Corey Nokes Shepardsville Campbellsburg
Andy Olson Greensburg Columbia
Chris Phillips Phyllis Pikeville
Joshua Preece Morehead Pikeville
Eugene Robinson Mount Vernon Morehead
Richard Saint-Blancard Petersburg Dry Ridge
Ivan Sewell Glasgow Pikeville
Bryan Shepard Bethelridge Pikeville
Jeremy Smith Nancy Bowling Green
Salvatore Zagami Louisville Campbellsburg

For information about how to become a Kentucky State Police trooper, contact the KSP Recruitment Branch at 502-695-6320 or visit the KSP web site at

Last Update: