News Release

For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:
Sergeant Michael B. Webb
Kentucky State Police
Public Affairs Branch
Office (502) 782-1780

Kentucky State Police Announces Civilian Employee Of The Year And Other Support Personnel Awards

Date of Release: 10/03/05

Lawrenceburg resident Mary Ashby (second from right) received her Kentucky State Police Employee of the Year Award from KSP Commissioner Mark Miller (right), Personnel Cabinet Secretary Erwin Roberts (left) and Justice and Public Safety Cabinet Deputy Secretary Cleve Gambill (second from left)(LOUISVILLE, KY) --The Kentucky State Police honored 23 of its most outstanding civilian employees at a special ceremony held today at the Holiday Inn Hurstbourne Lane in Louisville. Kentucky Personnel Cabinet Secretary Erwin Roberts joined Kentucky State Police Commissioner Mark L. Miller in presenting the awards.

Lawrenceburg resident Mary Ashby, Human Resources Branch Manager at KSP headquarters in Frankfort, was honored as the KSP Civilian Employee of the Year. She also received the Administrative Support Supervisor Award. A 31-year veteran of the agency, Ashby is a native of Lawrenceburg and a 1973 graduate of Western High School in Anderson County.

As Human Resources Branch Manager, Ashby supervises five employees and processes the payroll for approximately 1,700 employees. She also acts as a retirement adviser for the agency, assisting employees in this important and complicated process.

"Due to her vast experience and historical knowledge of the agency, Mary is frequently called upon to answer questions about a variety of issues," said Capt. Russ Harney, commander of the KSP Human Resources Branch. "On many occasions, I have witnessed her input on an issue change the agency's direction in a positive manner."

"Our civilian employees make a significant contribution to achieving our mission of protecting the citizens of Kentucky," noted Commissioner Miller. "Troopers in the field rely on their dedication and expertise on a daily basis. On behalf of Gov. Fletcher, Lt. Gov. Pence and the KSP command staff, I extend my personal appreciation to those individuals honored here today, and all agency employees, who strive to perform their duties with professionalism and integrity. They exemplify the standards held in highest regard by the Kentucky State Police."

"No one can do their jobs to their highest potential without support personnel. It's the support team at KSP that makes the whole department shine," added Secretary Roberts.

Other KSP employees who received Support Personnel Awards included:

Police Communication Support Service Award

West Region
Joey Mattingly
Post 4-Elizabethtown

Central Region
Jenna Richardson
Post 6-Dry Ridge

East Region Christy Runyon
Post 9-Pikeville

Telecommunications Supervisor Estalene Bartley
Post 9-Pikeville

Clerical Support Service Award

East Troop
Carolyn Coldiron
Post 10-Harlan

West Troop
Brenda Edwards
Post 4-Elizabethtown

Central Office Sarah Emmons
Academy Branch-Frankfort

Headquarters/Special Enforcement Troop
Sheri Jones
West Drug Enforcement Branch-Bowling Green

Driver Testing Support Award

West Region
Paula Todd

East Region
Betty Bass

Forensic Service Support Award

Central Lab Analyst
Tracy Kaeff
Central Laboratory Branch

Regional Lab Analyst
Jeffrey Scott Doyle
Jefferson Laboratory Branch

Forensic Lab Supervisor
Carol Hollander
Central Laboratory Branch

Administrative Support Service Award

Laurie Buchanan
Electronic Crimes Branch-Frankfort

Les Williams
Public Affairs Branch-Frankfort

Scientific Support Service Award

Terry Osborne
Criminal Identification & Records Branch-Frankfort

Computer Technology Technical Support Award

Wes Willoughby
Computer Technologies Branch-Frankfort

Records Technical Support Service Award

Judy Gordon
Criminal Identification & Records Branch-Frankfort

Facilities Security Support Service Award

Amy Dempsey
Facilities Security-Frankfort

Enforcement Support Service Award

Kevin Dunn
Post 12-Frankfort

Maintenance Support Service Award

Terry Carriss
Criminal Identification & Records Branch-Frankfort

Communications Technical Support Award

Brian Higgins
Communication & Computer Technologies Branch-Frankfort

Last Update: