News Release

For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:
Sergeant Michael B. Webb
Kentucky State Police
Public Affairs Branch
Office (502) 782-1780

Kentucky State Police Announces Trooper of the Year And Other Honors

Date of News Release: 05/23/2007

An image of General Norman Arflack, secretary of the Kentucky Justice and Public Safety Cabinet (right) and Kentucky State Police Commissioner Jack Adams (left) presented KSP Detective Steven T. Silfies with the 2006 Trooper of the Year Award on May 23 at the Holiday Inn Hurstborne Lane in Louisville. Silfies is a Hopkinsville resident assigned to KSP Post 2 in Madisonville, click here to enlarge (FRANKFORT, Ky.) - The Kentucky State Police named Hopkinsville, Ky.-resident Steven T. Silfies "2006 Trooper of the Year" at a special ceremony held today at the Holiday Inn Hurstborne Lane in Louisville. Thirty-eight other troopers and eight private citizens were also recognized for acts of meritorious service and achievement, valor, bravery, life-saving acts, professionalism and dedication to duty.

A four-year veteran of the Kentucky State Police, Detective Silfies is assigned to KSP Post 2 in Madisonville, which covers Caldwell, Christian, Crittenden, Hopkins, Muhlenberg, Todd and Webster counties.

During the past year, Silfies has played a leading role in the investigation of six murder cases, which resulted in two arrests. He has also been active in resolving several cold cases that have went unsolved for years. His work led to the arrest of an out-of-state resident in a 27-year-old case. His hard work and perseverance also led to the arrest of another out-of-state resident in a 16 year-old case and enabled him to uncover crucial, overlooked evidence in a 13-year-old case that is now awaiting new DNA testing.

Utilizing an extensive military background of more than two decades of Army service, which includes campaigns in both Afghanistan and Iraq, he also serves as a de-facto liaison officer with personnel at Fort Campbell. This connection has repeatedly proven a valuable asset to post investigators.

Eight troopers received the KSP Citation for Bravery, an honor bestowed on officers of the agency who perform acts of bravery, without regard for personal risk, of clear and obvious peril and clearly above and beyond the call or risk of ordinary duty:

Tpr. First Class Jonathan Holbrook, Post 3-Bowling Green
Trooper Sonny Dunaway, Post 7-Richmond
Trooper Starlin Hacker, Post 7-Richmond
Trooper Joseph Lucas , Post 7-Richmond
Trooper Adam Hall, Post 13-Hazard
Trooper Everett Earl Whitaker, Post 13-Hazard
Trooper James Goble, Post 14-Ashland
Trooper James Ryland, Post 14-Ashland

Trooper's Medals, awarded to officers who perform life-saving acts under extraordinary circumstances, were presented to:

Trooper Jason Newby , Post 2-Madisonville
Trooper William Braden, II, Post 2-Madisonville
Sgt. Bobby Murray, Post 2-Madisonville
Trooper Peter Binkley , Post 4-Elizabethtown
Trooper Michael Cook, Post 4-Elizabethtown
Detective Anthony Janutolo, East Drug Enforcement

The Guthrie Crowe Award, named after the first commissioner of the Kentucky State Police and bestowed on officers who sustain a severe wound or injury in the performance of duty, was presented to:

Sgt. Howard Rice, Post 5-Campbellsburg
Trooper Christopher Arnett, Post 6-Dry Ridge

Two troopers received the Citation for Meritorious Service with "V" Device for Valor for distinguishing themselves by an act of courage performed under more than ordinary circumstances:

Sgt. Jack Riley, Post 11-London
Trooper Tommy Cromer, Post 11-London

The KSP Citation for Meritorious Service was presented to the following officers who distinguished themselves by an act of meritorious service of such exceptional character that it contributed to the success of a major KSP command or endeavor:

Sgt. Jeremy Thompson, Post 4-Elizabethtown
Trooper Brian Mouser , Post 4-Elizabethtown

Twenty troopers were named Trooper of the Year at the post or branch level. They include:

Trooper Dean Patterson, Post 1-Mayfield
Detective Steven Silfies, Post 2-Madisonville
Detective Forrest Winchester, Jr., Post 3-Bowling Green
Trooper Peter Binkley , Post 4-Elizabethtown
Trooper Dave Roberts , Post 5-Campbellsburg
Detective Carey Kitts, Jr., Post 6-Dry Ridge
Trooper First Class Christopher Crockett, Post 7-Richmond
Trooper First Class Ralph Lockard, Jr., Post 8-Morehead
Detective Joey Howard*, Post 9-Pikeville
Detective Michael Cornett, Post 10-Harlan
Detective Douglas Boyd, Post 11-London
Trooper Hunter Martin, Post 12-Frankfort
Trooper Jacqueline Pickrell, Post 13-Hazard
Trooper Shane Goodall, Post 14-Ashland
Trooper Michael Dubree, Post 15-Columbia
Trooper Thomas Hampton, Jr., Post 16-Henderson
Trooper Jason McCowan, Special Operations
Detective Bret Kirkland, East Drug Enforcement
Detective Vincent Schmitt, West Drug Enforcement
Trooper Ryan Loudermilk, Administrative Division

The 2006 KSP Post Safe Driving Award, which recognizes the post with the highest average number of safe driving miles between assessable accidents, was presented to Post 4 in Elizabethtown.

The Commissioner's Award, presented to civilians who perform a life-saving act or a meritorious achievement that contributes to the success of a major KSP endeavor, was presented to:

Police Telecommunications Supervisor Marty Robinson, Post 11-London
Police Telecommunicator II Doug Jones, Post 11-London
Police Telecommunicator II Les Leatherman , Post 11-London
Police Telecommunications Shift Supervisor Chris Freeman, Post 7-Richmond
Police Telecommunicator I Darrell Melton, Post 7-Richmond
Mr. Bradley Allen, LaGrange, Ky.

The agency's highest civilian award, the KSP Citation for Meritorious Achievement, which is bestowed on individuals who perform an extraordinary act of service or heroism in direct support of an officer engaged in the official performance of duty, was presented to:

Mr. Seth Hooks, Cadiz, Ky.
Mr. James Miracle, Pineville, Ky.

KSP Commissioner Jack Adams described all of the honorees as "great Kentuckians" whose actions often made a life-saving difference to others. "It was not glory or fame or recognition that motivated them," he said. "It was more a matter of duty to the oath they swore to protect and serve, a dedication to duty that goes beyond themselves. In an instant, they were called on to put their own lives in peril to save the lives of others and they did so without hesitation."

Last Update: