News Release

For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:
Sergeant Michael B. Webb
Kentucky State Police
Public Affairs Branch
Office (502) 782-1780

Kentucky State Police Announce Civilian Employee Awards

Date of Photo Release: 10/07/2008

An image of Henderson resident William Oscar Bunch (center) was named Kentucky State Police Civilian Employee of the Year by KSP Commissioner Rodney Brewer (right) and Charles Geveden, deputy secretary of the Kentucky Justice and Public Safety Cabinet (left) on Oct. 7 in Frankfort.
, click to enlarge in a new window

(Frankfort, KY) - Twenty-five civilian employees were honored by the Kentucky State Police at a special ceremony held today at the Kentucky History Center in Frankfort.

Henderson native and resident William Oscar Bunch was honored as the KSP Civilian Employee of the Year. A nine-year veteran of the agency, Bunch is a Maintenance Worker II at KSP Post 16 in Henderson. He is also responsible for maintaining KSP Post 2 in Madisonville.

"Oscar is 77 years of age and seldom takes a sick day," says Capt. Ricki Allen, commander of Post 16. "His work ethic is exceptional as evidenced by the fact that he starts work very early each day to complete many of his duties before the arrival of most post personnel. He keeps a very positive attitude while attending to the needs of not one, but two posts."

Other KSP civilian employees who received awards included:

Police Communications Support Award

Jodi Shacklette, Post 4-Elizabethtown
Tiffany Fields, Post 6-Dry Ridge
Kris Gilliam, Post 10-Harlan

Police Communications Support Supervisor Award

Susan Hopper, Post 14-Ashland

Clerical Support Service Award

Rhonda Burkhart, Post 14-Ashland
Elizabeth Johnson, Facilities Security Branch
Karla Mowell, Post 11, London
Emily Perkins, Legal Services Branch, Frankfort.

Driver Testing Administrative Support Award

West Region: Kenny Childers, Louisville
East Region: Jerry Clark, Catlettsburg

Forensic Services Support Award

Laboratory Analyst: Michael David, Central Laboratory Branch, Frankfort
Regional Laboratory Analyst: Gena Brittain, Jefferson Laboratory Branch, Louisville
Forensic Laboratory Supervisor: Terry Comstock, Jefferson Laboratory Branch, Louisville

Administrative Support Service Award

Jimmy Carey, Academy Branch, Frankfort
Jetta Collett, Financial\Grants Management Branch, Frankfort

Administrative Support Supervisor Award

Misty Moore, Criminal Identification and Records Branch, Frankfort

Scientific Support Service Award

Jim Lewis, AFIS, Criminal Identification & Records Branch, Frankfort

Computer Technology Technical Support Award

Gerald Dunn, Communications and Computer Technologies Branch, Frankfort

Records Technical Support Service Award

Heather Wagers, Branch, Criminal Identification and Records Branch, Frankfort

Facilities Security Support Service Award

Carlton Grimes, Facilities Security Branch, Frankfort

Enforcement Support Service Award

Damon Fleming, Post 2, Madisonville

Maintenance Support Service Award

Jeffery Brown, Trooper Island
William O. Bunch, Post 16, Henderson

Communications Technical Support Award

Wayne Stuart, Communication & Computer Technologies Branch, Frankfort

Properties Management & Supply Technical Support Service Award

Pamela West, Properties Management & Supply Branch, Frankfort

"Our civilian employees play essential roles in our mission of protecting the citizens of Kentucky," said Kentucky State Police Commissioner Rodney Brewer. "Without their daily efforts, troopers in the field would have a much more difficult job. They provide professional support that makes the whole agency shine."

Last Update: