News Release

For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:
Sergeant Michael B. Webb
Kentucky State Police
Public Affairs Branch
Office (502) 782-1780

Thirty-four Troopers Graduate From Kentucky State Police Academy

Date of News Release: 06/12/2009

An image of KSP new troopers, click here to enlarge in a new window

(Frankfort, Ky.) -- The Kentucky State Police Academy presented diplomas to 34 new troopers at ceremonies held today in Frankfort. Their addition to the force brings the agency's strength to a total of 928 troopers serving the citizens of the Commonwealth.

"You have achieved what many have not," Gov. Steve Beshear told the new troopers. "You are about to make an important impression on the lives of the citizens of Kentucky," he said. "At one point in your career, they will ask you 'to be there.' We understand and are grateful for your service and sacrifice. The people of the Commonwealth are proud of you."

The new troopers, which include one female and one former Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Officer, started a 23-week training cycle on Jan. 4, 2009 in a class that consisted of 55 cadets. Their training included more than 1,000 hours of classroom and field study in subjects such as constitutional law, juvenile and traffic law, use of force, weapons training, defensive tactics, first aid, high speed vehicle pursuit, criminal investigation, survival Spanish, computer literacy, hostage negotiations, evidence collection, radio procedures, search and seizure, crash investigation, drug identification, traffic control, crowd control, armed robbery response, land navigation, electronic crimes, sex crimes, hate crimes, domestic violence, bomb threats and hazardous materials.

"These cadets faced daily challenges that required intelligence, physical stamina, sacrifice and a deep commitment to service," said KSP Commissioner Rodney Brewer. "The attrition rate was high, but the high standards and rigorous training will pay off as the new troopers face challenges in the field."

"The troopers graduating here today stand on the shoulders of all those who have gone before them," added Brewer. "We welcome them to the ranks of Kentucky's 'Thin Gray Line' as they take up the torch of law and order and carry it into the future."

Several members of the class earned special recognitions including valedictorian Brad Riley, of Lexington, Ky., and salutatorian David Hall, of Bowling Green, Ky.

Riley also received the Ernie Bivens Award, an honor presented to the cadet who, in the opinion of the Kentucky State Police Academy staff supported by input from the cadets themselves, shows distinction as a class leader, strives for academic excellence and has excelled in all phases of the academy's physical and vocational training.

The following is a list of the new troopers, their duty assignments and their hometowns or residences:

Post 1, Mayfield

Nathan M. Clinkenbeard, Cadiz, Ky.
Michael B. Payne, Florence, Ky.

Post 3, Bowling Green

David A. Hall, Bowling Green, Ky.

Post 4, Elizabethtown

Brad A. Riley, Lexington, Ky.

Post 5, Campbellsburg

Bradley M. Arterburn, Shelbyville, Ky.
Joshua D. Noble, Louisville, Ky.

Post 6, Dry Ridge

Christopher R. Lairson, Milton, Fla.
Joshua C. Whitton, Williamstown, Ky.

Post 7, Richmond

Jesse A. Armstrong, London, Ky.
Michael W. Keeton, Nicholasville, Ky.

Post 8, Morehead

Scott V. Caudill, Hazard, Ky.
Erwin E. Eiserman, Jackson, Ky.
Endre I. Samu, London, Ky.

Post 9, Pikeville

Eric B. Caldwell, Hyden, Ky.
Adam D. Hall, Printer, Ky.
Cassandra J. Mullins, Hazard, Ky.
Jamie L. Rose, Pikeville, Ky.
Jacob M. Stinnett, Hardinsburg, Ky.

Post 10, Harlan

Jeffrey D. Browning, Hazard, Ky.

Post 12, Frankfort

James C. Collins, Versailles, Ky.
James G. Reed, London, Ky.
Martin L. Schafer, Bowling Green, Ky.
Edward R. Whitworth, Shelbyville, Ky.

Post 14, Ashland

Blake D. Frasure, Crayner, Ky.
Darren T. Kinman, Frankfort, Ky.
Justin B. Oliver, East Bernstadt, Ky.
Jason T. Partin, Rockholds, Ky.
Jarrod T. Smith, Manchester, Ky.

Post 15, Columbia

Logan R. Richardson, Hardyville, Ky.

Post 16, Henderson

Christopher Baker, Leitchfield, Ky.
John N. Jenkin, Sturgis, Ky.
Aaron T. Pryor, Falls of Rough, Ky.
Michael S. Settle, Lewisburg, Ky.
Patrick A. Zalone II, Mt. Sterling, Ky.

The new troopers will be supervised by a training officer for six to eight weeks after reporting to their post duty assignments.

Last Update: