KSP Banner KSP Banner

CCDW Frequently Asked Questions

Questions about the application process

  1. What is the application fee? Click here for answer
  2. Is anyone exempt from the payment of the application fee? Click here for answer
  3. What is the renewal fee? Click here for answer
  4. How can I find a certified instructor for the required training class? Click here for answer
  5. How will I be notified when it is time to renew my CCDW license? Click here for answer
  6. What if I fail to renew my CCDW license by the expiration date? Click here for answer
  7. How do I obtain a replacement for a lost, stolen or destroyed license? Click here for answer
  8. How long does it take to process and receive my license? Click here for answer
  9. I applied the same time as someone else, and they already received their license but I haven't. Click here for answer
  10. Can I find out if my license will be denied before I apply? Click here for answer
  11. My license is expired and has been purged, how do I get my license back? Click here for answer
  12. I lost my training certificate; do I have to take the training again? Click here for answer
  13. I did not receive my flashpak in the mail. Click here for answer
  14. Can I change my address by fax or telephone? Click here for answer
  15. Can I come to the CCDW office to deliver my documentation? Click here for answer
  16. What do I do now that I have moved out-of-state? Click here for answer
  17. Why has my check not cleared yet? Click here for answer
  18. Is anyone exempt from the training requirements? Click here for answer
  19. Can I transfer my concealed weapons license or training certificate from another state to Kentucky? Click here for answer
  20. How can I obtain a EPO/EVO temporary concealed carry permit? Click here for answer

Answers about the application process

What is the application fee?

Sixty dollars. You must prepare two payments. One payment, in the amount of twenty dollars, should be made to the sheriff of your county of residence. The second payment should be a check or money order in the amount of forty dollars ($40.00), made payable to "Kentucky State Treasurer". Applications that are not accompanied by a check or money order for forty dollars ($40.00) payable to the "Kentucky State Treasurer" will be returned unprocessed to the sheriff of the applicant's county of residence.

Click here to go back to the Application Process

Is anyone exempt from the payment of the application fee?

Yes.

  1. Full-time or part-time peace officers who are currently certified as peace officers by the Kentucky Law Enforcement Council and who are authorized by their employer or government authority to carry a concealed deadly weapon at all times and all locations within the Commonwealth pursuant to KRS 527.020; or
  2. Retired peace officers who are members of the Kentucky Employees Retirement System, State Police Retirement System, County Employees Retirement System, or other retirement system operated by or for a city, county, or urban-county government in Kentucky, shall be exempt from paying the paper or electronic application or renewal fees.

Click here to go back to the Application Process

What is the renewal fee?

Sixty dollars. You must prepare two payments. One payment, in the amount of twenty dollars, should be made to the sheriff of your county of residence. The second payment should be a check or money order in the amount of forty dollars (fifty-five dollars if the renewal application is submitted after the expiration date of the license), made payable to "Kentucky State Treasurer".

Click here to go back to the Application Process

How can I find a certified instructor for the required training class?

You can contact your local Sheriff Office and they will have a listing of all instructors in your area.

Click here to go back to the Application Process

How will I be notified when it is time to renew my CCDW license?

One hundred twenty (120) days prior to the expiration date of the license, a written notice of expiration and a renewal form shall be mailed to each licensee.

Click here to go back to the Application Process

What if I fail to renew my CCDW license by the expiration date?

A licensee who fails to file a renewal application on or before the license expiration date may renew their license by paying, in addition to the license fees, a late fee of fifteen dollars ($15). No license shall be renewed six (6) months or more after its expiration date, and the license shall be deemed permanently expired six (6) months after its expiration date. A person whose license has permanently expired may reapply for a CCDW licensure pursuant to KRS 237.110.

Click here to go back to the Application Process

How do I obtain a replacement for a lost, stolen or destroyed license?

If your license is lost, stolen or destroyed you must complete a Request for Duplicate CCDW License (KSP 126) form at the office of the Sheriff of your county of residence and provide a check or money order, payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer, in the amount of fifteen dollars ($15.00).

Click here to go back to the Application Process

How long does it take to process and receive my license?

The Kentucky State Police shall either issue a license or send a denial notice within 90 days after the date of receipt of the following items:

  1. A completed application;
  2. A recent color photograph of the applicant, as prescribed by administrative regulation;
  3. photocopy of a certificate of completion of training issued by the Department of Criminal Justice Training; and
  4. For an applicant who is not a citizen of the United States and has been lawfully admitted to the United States by the United States government or an agency thereof, his or her United States government issued:
  1. Permanent Resident Card I-551 or its equivalent successor identification;
  2. Other United States government issued evidence of lawful admission to the United States which includes the category of admission, if admission has not been granted as a permanent resident; and
  3. Evidence of compliance with the provisions of 18 U.S.C. sec. 922(g)(5), 18 U.S.C. sec. 922(d)(5), or 18 U.S.C. sec. 922(y)(2), and 27 C.F.R. Part 178, including, as appropriate, but not limited to evidence of ninety (90) day residence in the Commonwealth, a valid current Kentucky hunting license if claiming exemption as a hunter, or other evidence of eligibility to purchase a firearm by an alien which is required by federal law or regulation.

Click here to go back to the Application Process

I applied the same time as someone else, and they already received their license but I haven't.

The processing time for each application will vary. It depends on different circumstances, such as background checks or whether the application was submitted correctly.

Click here to go back to the Application Process

Can I find out if my license will be denied before I apply?

A background check is not conducted until after an application has been submitted. For a list of possible disqualifiers, a potential applicant can view the section of the frequently asked questions page titled: "For what reasons would a license be denied, suspended, or revoked?"

Click here to go back to the Application Process

My license is expired and has been purged, how do I get my license back?

A licensee who fails to file a renewal application on or before its expiration date may renew his or her license by paying, in addition to the license fees, a late fee of fifteen dollars ($15). No license shall be renewed six (6) months or more after its expiration date, and the license shall be deemed to be permanently expired six (6) months after its expiration date. A person whose license has permanently expired may reapply for a license. KRS 237.110(14)(c).

Click here to go back to the Application Process

I lost my training certificate; do I have to take the training again?

A valid training certificate is good for life. If you need a duplicate certificate, send a written request which includes your full name, Social Security Number, and current mailing address to the Department of Criminal Justice Training by fax at (859) 622-8387 or by mail at:

Click here to go back to the Application Process

I did not receive my flashpak in the mail.

Flashpaks are mailed to the address that is currently on file with the CCDW Section. If you have moved, you must complete a Change of Personal Information form (available at the office of the Sheriff for your county of residence).

  • To request a duplicate flashpak, contact the CCDW Section at 502-782-9792.
  • Renewal Flashpaks are mailed 120 days prior to expiration of the license.
  • P.O. Box will override a street address.

Click here to go back to the Application Process

Can I change my address by fax or telephone?

The CCDW section cannot update an address via telephone or fax. A Change of Personal Information form must be completed at the Sheriff's Department.

Click here to go back to the Application Process

Can I come to the CCDW office to deliver my documentation?

No. All documents must be provided to the Sheriff of the county of the applicant's residence.

Click here to go back to the Application Process

What do I do now that I have moved out-of-state?

Non-residents are not eligible for a CCDW license. Consequently, the license of an individual that moves out of state is subject to revocation. Licensees that move out of state may voluntarily surrender their CCDW license by mailing it with a letter to the following address explaining that they are moving out of state:

Kentucky State Police
Criminal Identification & Records Branch
CCDW Section
1266 Louisville Road
Frankfort, KY 40601

Click here to go back to the Application Process

Why has my check not cleared yet?

Because of CCDW check and accounting process procedures, it may take longer than an applicant anticipates for a check to clear.

Is anyone exempt from the training requirements?

Yes.

  1. The following individuals are eligible for a training waiver:
    1. Peace officers who are currently certified as peace officers by the Kentucky Law Enforcement Council pursuant to KRS 15.380 to 15.404.
    2. Peace officers who are retired and are members of the Kentucky Employees Retirement System, State Police Retirement System, or County Employees Retirement System or other retirement system operated by or for a city, county, or urban-county in Kentucky.
    3. Current and retired peace officers of the following federal agencies shall be deemed to have met the training requirement:
      1. Any peace officer employed by a federal agency specified in KRS 61.365;
      2. Any peace officer employed by a federal civilian law enforcement agency not specified above who has successfully completed the basic law enforcement training course required by that agency;
      3. Any military peace officer of the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, or Air Force, or a reserve component thereof, or of the Army National Guard or Air National Guard who has successfully completed the military law enforcement training course required by that branch of the military; and
      4. Any member of the United States Coast Guard serving in a peace officer role who has successfully completed the law enforcement training course specified by the United States Coast Guard.
    4. The following corrections officers are deemed to have met the training requirement:
      1. Corrections officers who are currently employed by a county containing a consolidated local government or an urban-county government who have successfully completed a basic firearms training course required for their employment.
      2. Corrections officers who were formerly employed by a county containing a consolidated local government or an urban-county government who are retired, and who successfully completed a basic firearms training course required for their employment, and are members of a state-administered retirement system or other retirement system operated by or for a city, county, or urban-county government in Kentucky.
    5. Active or honorably discharged service members service members in the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, or Coast Guard, or a reserve component thereof, or of the Army National Guard or Air National Guard that meet the following criteria are deemed to have met the training requirement:
      1. Successfully completed handgun training which was conducted by the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, or Coast Guard, or a reserve component thereof, or of the Army National Guard or Air National Guard; or
      2. Successfully completed handgun qualification within the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, or Coast Guard, or a reserve component thereof, or of the Army Guard or Air Force National Guard.
  2. Documentation for waiver. Persons seeking the training exemption set forth in paragraph A5 may submit with their application:
    1. At least one of the following paper or electronic forms "showing evidence of handgun qualifications":
      • Department of Defense Form DD 2586;
      • Department of Defense Form DD 214;
      • Coast Guard Form CG 3029;
      • Department of the Army Form DA 88-R;
      • Department of the Army Form DA 5704-R;
      • Department of the Navy Form OPNAV 3591-1; or
      • Department of the Air Force Form AF 522.
    2. Instead of the forms listed in Section B1 above, persons seeking the training exemption set forth in paragraph A5 may submit with their application:
      • Documentary evidence of an honorable discharge; and
      • A notarized affidavit on a form provided by the Department of Kentucky State Police, signed under penalty of perjury, stating the person has met the training requirements of KRS 237.110(6)(d).

Click here to go back to the Application Process

Can I transfer my concealed weapons license or training certificate from another state to Kentucky?

There is no statutory authority for another state's license to carry a concealed weapon to be transferred to Kentucky. Individuals that wish to apply for a license to carry a concealed deadly weapon in Kentucky must meet the requirements set forth in KRS 237.110, including the residency and training requirements. Currently, no waiver of the training requirement is authorized based upon prior completion of out of state training approved for obtaining a license in another jurisdiction. The only training waivers authorized by statute are for the following individuals listed in KRS 237.110(6):

"(a) Peace officers who are currently certified as peace officers by the Kentucky Law Enforcement Council pursuant to KRS 15.380 to 15.404 and peace officers who are retired and are members of the Kentucky Employees Retirement System, State Police Retirement System, or County Employees Retirement System or other retirement system operated by or for a city, county, or urban-county in Kentucky shall be deemed to have met the training requirement.

(b) Current and retired peace officers of the following federal agencies shall be deemed to have met the training requirement:

  1. Any peace officer employed by a federal agency specified in KRS 61.365;
  2. Any peace officer employed by a federal civilian law enforcement agency not specified above who has successfully completed the basic law enforcement training course required by that agency;
  3. Any military peace officer of the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, or Air Force, or a reserve component thereof, or of the Army Reserve or Air Force Reserve who has successfully completed the military law enforcement training course required by that branch of the military; and
  4. Any member of the United States Coast Guard serving in a peace officer role who has successfully completed the law enforcement training course specified by the United States Coast Guard."

Click here to go back to the Application Process

How can I obtain a EPO/EVO temporary concealed carry permit?

KRS 403.754 authorizes an EPO/DVO temporary concealed carry permit for eligible petitioners for an order of protection. Kentucky State Police has implemented this change and has created an electronic application process. The electronic application is available, and applications for temporary permits under this section shall be accepted at https://kspportal.ky.gov/ccdw

Click here to go back to the Application Process

Questions about carrying a weapon

  1. I am not prohibited from possessing a firearm, but do not have a carry concealed deadly weapon (CCDW) license. Can I transport a firearm in my vehicle without violating the prohibition in KRS 527.020 against carrying a concealed deadly weapon? Click here for answer
  2. I am a Peace Officer from another state, can I carry my weapon concealed? Click here for answer
  3. I have a question about CCDW laws in other states. Click here for answer
  4. Why have I been denied when trying to purchase a firearm? Click here for answer
  5. Where can I openly carry a firearm? Click here for answer
  6. Is it legal for a minor to possess a handgun? Click here for answer
  7. Is it legal to provide a handgun to a minor? Click here for answer
  8. I am a retired/former Peace Officer from another state, can I carry my weapon concealed? Click here for answer
  9. I moved to Kentucky from another state where I had a carry concealed deadly weapon license. May a Kentucky resident legally carry a concealed deadly weapon in Kentucky with a license from another state? Click here for answer
  10. I have a license to carry a concealed deadly weapon. Is there any place I am not allowed to carry concealed? Click here for answer

I am not prohibited from possessing a firearm, but do not have a carry concealed deadly weapon (CCDW) license. Can I transport a firearm in my vehicle without violating the prohibition in KRS 527.020 against carrying a concealed deadly weapon?

KRS 527.020(8) states in part that:
"A loaded or unloaded firearm or other deadly weapon shall not be deemed concealed on or about the person if it is located in any enclosed container, compartment, or storage space installed as original equipment in a motor vehicle by its manufacturer, including but not limited to a glove compartment, center console, or seat pocket, regardless of whether said enclosed container, storage space, or compartment is locked, unlocked, or does not have a locking mechanism. No person or organization, public or private, shall prohibit a person from keeping a loaded or unloaded firearm or ammunition, or both, or other deadly weapon in a vehicle in accordance with the provisions of this subsection. Any attempt by a person or organization, public or private, to violate the provisions of this subsection may be the subject of an action for appropriate relief or for damages in a Circuit Court or District Court of competent jurisdiction. This subsection shall not apply to any person prohibited from possessing a firearm pursuant to KRS 527.040."

KRS 527.020(1) states that: "A person is guilty of carrying a concealed weapon when he or she carries concealed a firearm or other deadly weapon on or about his or her person."

KRS 527.020(9) establishes the following penalty: "Carrying a concealed weapon is a Class A misdemeanor, unless the defendant has been previously convicted of a felony in which a deadly weapon was possessed, used, or displayed, in which case it is a Class D felony."

The above information is provided solely for your convenience and is not intended to constitute a formal legal opinion or legal advice. If you have any additional questions on transporting deadly weapons in a vehicle, including whether a particular means of transportation would violate the prohibition against carrying a concealed deadly weapon, you may wish to consult an attorney.

Click here to go back to the Questions about carrying a weapon

I am a Peace Officer from another state, can I carry my weapon concealed?

A full-time paid peace officer of a government agency from another state or territory of the United States or an elected sheriff from another territory of the United States may carry a concealed deadly weapon in Kentucky, on or off duty, if the other state or territory accords a Kentucky full-time paid peace officer and a Kentucky elected sheriff the same rights by law. If the other state or territory limits a Kentucky full-time paid peace officer or elected sheriff to carrying a concealed deadly weapon while on duty, then that same restriction shall apply to a full-time paid peace officer or elected sheriff from that state or territory.

Click here to go back to the Questions about carrying a weapon

I have a question about CCDW laws in other states.

The Kentucky State Police cannot answer questions regarding the concealed weapons laws of other states, you will have to contact the states in question.

(*See reciprocity list for states that honor KY CCDW license)

Click here to go back to the Questions about carrying a weapon

Why have I been denied when trying to purchase a firearm?

You should contact the FBI NICS at (877) 444-6427.

Click here to go back to the Questions about carrying a weapon

Where can I openly carry a firearm?

There are no Kentucky Revised Statutes that govern the open carry of firearms by persons who lawfully possess such firearms except for the following:

  • KRS 527.070 - Unlawful possession (whether carried openly or concealed) of a weapon on school property, except for certain specified exceptions.
  • KRS 244.125 - Which bars loaded firearms (concealed or otherwise) in places where alcohol is sold by the drink, except for certain specified exceptions.
  • The website for the Kentucky legislature (http://www.lrc.ky.gov/) includes Chapters 237, 244 and 527 of the Kentucky Revised Statutes, which set forth in more detail the circumstances under which an individual may carry a weapon in the Commonwealth of Kentucky. However, the Department of Kentucky State Police (KSP) is not statutorily authorized to issue legal opinions to the public and nothing contained in this response should be construed as the rendering of legal advice. Further, the determination of whether probable cause of a violation of law exists is a factually-dependent inquiry that must be assessed under the totality of the circumstances that are presented to a law enforcement officer on the scene who is confronted with such conduct. You are encouraged to consult with private legal counsel or, in the alternative, you may wish to direct your inquiry to the Commonwealth of Kentucky Office of the Attorney General (requests for an opinion from the Attorney General should be submitted in writing to: Opinions, 700 Capitol Avenue, Suite 118, Frankfort, KY 40601).
    This response does not address any restrictions that may apply under the laws of other states. In addition, this response does not address any restrictions that may apply under federal law, or on federal property. You may wish to contact the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) with any questions you have in regard to federal law on this subject. The contact information for the ATF is:
    U.S. Department of Justice
    Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives
    Louisville Field Division
    600 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Place Suite 500
    Louisville, KY 40202
    (502) 753-3400
    Fax: (502) 753-3401

Click here to go back to the Questions about carrying a weapon

Is it legal for a minor to possess a handgun?

KRS 527.100 provides as follows:

  1. A person is guilty of possession of a handgun by a minor when, being under the age of eighteen (18) years, he possesses, manufactures, or transports a handgun as defined by KRS 527.010, except when the person is:
    1. In attendance at a hunter's safety course or a firearms safety course;
    2. Engaging in practice in the use of a firearm, or target shooting at an established firing range, or any other area where the discharge of a firearm is not prohibited;
    3. Engaging in an organized competition involving the use of a firearm, or participating in or practicing for a performance by a group organized under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code or any successor thereto which uses firearms as a part of the performance;
    4. Hunting or trapping pursuant to a valid license issued to him pursuant to the statutes or administrative regulations of this Commonwealth;
    5. Traveling to or from any activity described in paragraphs (a) to (d) of this subsection with any unloaded handgun in his possession;
    6. On real property which is under the control of an adult and has the permission of that adult and his parent or legal guardian to possess a handgun; or
    7. At his residence and with the permission of his parent or legal guardian possesses a handgun and is justified under the principles of justification set forth in KRS Chapter 503 in using physical force or deadly physical force.
  2. For the purposes of subsection (1) of this section, a handgun is "loaded" if:
    1. There is a cartridge in the chamber of the handgun; or
    2. There is a cartridge in the cylinder of the handgun, if the handgun is a revolver; or
    3. There is a cartridge in the magazine of a semiautomatic handgun, if the magazine is attached to the handgun; or
    4. The handgun and the ammunition for the handgun, are carried on the person of one under the age of eighteen (18) years or are in such close proximity to him that he could readily gain access to the handgun and the ammunition and load the handgun.
  3. Possession of a handgun by a minor is a Class A misdemeanor for the first offense and a Class D felony for each subsequent offense.

The above information is provided solely for your convenience and is not intended to constitute a formal legal opinion or legal advice. In addition, this response does not address any restrictions that may apply under federal law or the laws of other states. If you have any additional questions on this subject, you may wish to consult an attorney.

Click here to go back to the Questions about carrying a weapon

Is it legal to provide a handgun to a minor?

KRS 527.110 provides:

  1. A person is guilty of unlawfully providing a handgun to a juvenile or permitting a juvenile to possesses a handgun when he:
    1. Intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly provides a handgun, with or without remuneration, in violation of KRS 527.040, 527.100, or 600.020 to any person he knows or has reason to believe is under the age of eighteen (18) years; or
    2. Is the parent or legal guardian of a juvenile and intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly provides a handgun to the juvenile or permits the juvenile to possess a handgun knowing that there is a substantial risk that the juvenile will use a handgun to commit a felony offense; or, with knowledge that the juvenile has been convicted of a crime of violence as defined in KRS 439.3401 or has been adjudicated a public offender of an offense which would constitute a crime of violence as defined in KRS 439.3401, provides a handgun to that juvenile.
  2. Unlawfully providing a hand gun to a juvenile or permitting a juvenile to possess a handgun is a Class D felony.

The above information is provided solely for your convenience and is not intended to constitute a formal legal opinion or legal advice. In addition, this response does not address any restrictions that may apply under federal law or the laws of other states. If you have any additional questions on this subject, you may wish to consult an attorney.

Click here to go back to the Questions about carrying a weapon

I am a retired/former Peace Officer from another state, can I carry my weapon concealed?

A retired/former peace officer from another state that possesses a valid carry concealed weapons license issued by another state may, subject to the provisions of Kentucky law, carry a concealed deadly weapon in Kentucky. In addition, a retired/former peace officer that possesses a valid certification and identification to carry a concealed deadly weapon pursuant to the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA), 18 U.S.C. 926C, may carry a concealed deadly weapon in Kentucky. However, 18 U.S.C. 926C(b) provides that:

"This section shall not be construed to supersede or limit the laws of any State that--

  1. permit private persons or entities to prohibit or restrict the possession of concealed firearms on their property; or
  2. prohibit or restrict the possession of firearms on any State or local government property, installation, building, base, or park."

The above information is provided solely for the convenience of the public and is not intended to constitute a formal legal opinion or legal advice. You may wish to consult an attorney if you have any questions on carrying a concealed deadly weapon in the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

Click here to go back to the Questions about carrying a weapon

I moved to Kentucky from another state where I had a carry concealed deadly weapon license. May a Kentucky resident legally carry a concealed deadly weapon in Kentucky with a license from another state?

KRS 237.110(20) states in pertinent part that:

"(a) A person who is not a resident of Kentucky and who has a valid license issued by another state of the United States to carry a concealed deadly weapon in that state may, subject to provisions of Kentucky law, carry a concealed deadly weapon in Kentucky, and his or her license shall be considered as valid in Kentucky.

(b) If a person with a valid license to carry a concealed deadly weapon issued from another state that has entered into a reciprocity agreement with the Department of Kentucky State Police becomes a resident of Kentucky, the license issued by the other state shall be considered as valid for the first one hundred twenty (120) days of the person's residence in Kentucky, if within sixty (60) days of moving to Kentucky, the person completes a form promulgated by the Department of Kentucky State Police which shall include:

  1. A signed and notarized statement averring that to the best of his or her knowledge the person's license to carry a concealed deadly weapon is valid and in compliance with applicable out-of-state law, and has not been revoked or suspended for any reason except for valid forfeiture due to departure from the issuing state;
  2. The person's name, date of birth, citizenship, gender, Social Security number if applicable, proof that he or she is a citizen of the United States, a permanent resident of the United States, or otherwise lawfully present in the United States, former out-of-state address, current address within the state of Kentucky, date on which Kentucky residence began, state which issued the concealed carry license, the issuing state's concealed carry license number, and the state of issuance of license; and
  3. A photocopy of the person's out-of-state license to carry a concealed deadly weapon.

(c) Within sixty (60) days of moving to Kentucky, the person shall deliver the form and accompanying documents by registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, to the address indicated on the form provided by the Department of Kentucky State Police pursuant to this subsection.

(d) The out-of-state concealed carry license shall become invalid in Kentucky upon the earlier of:

  1. The out-of-state person having resided in Kentucky for more than one hundred twenty (120) days; or
  2. The person being issued a Kentucky concealed deadly weapon license pursuant to this section."

Click here to go back to the Questions about carrying a weapon

I have a license to carry a concealed deadly weapon. Is there any place I am not allowed to carry concealed?

Except as provided in KRS 527.020, no license issued pursuant to this section shall authorize any person to carry a concealed firearm into: (a) Any police station or sheriff' office; (b) Any detention facility, prison, or jail; (c) Any courthouse, solely occupied by the Court of Justice courtroom, or court proceeding; (d) Any meeting of the governing body of a county, municipality, or special district; or any meeting of the General Assembly or a committee of the General Assembly, except that nothing in this section shall preclude a member of the body, holding a concealed deadly weapon license, from carrying a concealed deadly weapon at a meeting of the body of which he or she is a member; (e) Any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense beer or alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises, which portion of the establishment is primarily devoted to that purpose; (f) Any elementary or secondary school facility without the consent of school authorities as provided in KRS 527.070, any child-caring facility as defined in KRS 199.011, any day-care center as defined in KRS 199.894, or any certified family child-care home as defined in KRS 199.8982, except however, any owner of a certified child-care home may carry a concealed firearm into the owner' residence used as a certified child-care home; (g) An area of an airport to which access is controlled by the inspection of persons and property; or (h) Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law.

In addition to the above restrictions, units of state and local governments and postsecondary education facilities (colleges, universities, technical schools and community colleges) have the authority to limit the carrying of concealed weapons on property owned or controlled by them (KRS 237.115). Further, Kentucky law does not prohibit the owners of private premises from excluding persons carrying firearms.

The website for the Kentucky legislature (http://www.lrc.ky.gov/) includes Chapters 237, 244 and 527 of the Kentucky Revised Statutes, which set forth in more detail the circumstances under which an individual may carry a weapon in the Commonwealth of Kentucky. However, the Department of Kentucky State Police is not authorized to issue legal opinions to the public and this e-mail is being provided as a courtesy for informational purposes only. If you have any questions about the matters addressed herein you should seek an opinion from the Commonwealth of Kentucky’s Office of the Attorney General or private counsel. The contact information for the Office of the Attorney General is as follows:

Opinions
Office of the Attorney General
Capitol Suite 118
700 Capitol Avenue
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601-3449

This response does not address any restrictions that may apply under federal law, or on federal property. You may wish to contact the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) with any questions you have in regard to federal law on this subject. The contact information for the ATF is:

U.S. Department of Justice
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives
Louisville Field Division
600 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Place
Suite 500
Louisville, KY 40202
(502) 753-3400
Fax: (502) 753-3401

Click here to go back to the Questions about carrying a weapon

Questions about the license

  1. How long is the license valid? Click here for answer
  2. Is there a fine if I do not have my carry concealed deadly weapon license in my possession? Click here for answer
  3. For what reasons would a license be denied, suspended or revoked? Click here for answer
  4. What weapons are covered under the CCDW license? Click here for answer
  5. I have recently moved, how do I notify the State Police of my new address? Click here for answer
  6. Some of the information listed on my CCDW license is incorrect. How do I notify the State Police of this? Click here for answer

How long is the license valid?

Five years from the date of issuance unless suspended or revoked.

Click here to go back to the Questions about the license

Is there a fine if I do not have my carry concealed deadly weapon license in my possession?

Yes, failure on the part of a license holder to have their CCDW license in their possession when carrying a concealed firearm or deadly weapon will result in a non-criminal violation punishable by a $25.00 fine.

Click here to go back to the Questions about the license

For what reasons would a license be denied, suspended or revoked?

The reasons an application may be denied, or a license revoked or suspended, include the following:

  • Conviction of a felony.
  • Being under indictment for a felony.
  • Conviction of Assault in the fourth degree within the past three years.
  • Conviction of terroristic threatening in the third degree within the past three years.
  • Conviction of a misdemeanor relating to a controlled substance within the past three years.
  • Conviction of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.
  • Being an unlawful user of, or being addicted to, any controlled substance.
  • Conviction of two DUIs within the past three years.
  • Commitment for alcohol or drug abuse within the past three years.
  • Adjudication as an incompetent or having been involuntarily committed to a mental institution.
  • An active emergency protective order or domestic violence order.
  • Owing a child support arrearage which equals or exceeds the cumulative amount which would be owed after one (1) year of nonpayment, if the Department of Kentucky State Police has been notified of the arrearage by the Cabinet for Health and Family Services.
  • Failure to comply with any subpoena or warrant relating to child support or paternity proceedings. If the Department of Kentucky State Police has not been notified by the Cabinet for Health and Family Services that the applicant has failed to meet this requirement, the Department of Kentucky State Police shall assume that paternity and child support proceedings are not an issue.
  • Being a fugitive from justice.
  • Dishonorable discharge from the Armed Forces.
  • A discrepancy concerning the age or training requirements.
  • Being ineligible to purchase, receive or possess a firearm, ammunition or both under state or federal law.

Note - While some disqualifiers listed above have a three-year limitation, other disqualifiers, such as conviction of a felony or misdemeanor crime of domestic violence, do not have a time limitation.

Click here to go back to the Questions about the license

What weapons are covered under the CCDW license?

  • Any weapon from which a shot, readily capable of producing death or serious physical injury, may be discharged.
  • Any knife other than an ordinary pocket knife or hunting knife.
  • Billy, nightstick, or club.
  • Blackjack or slapjack.
  • Nunchaku karate sticks.
  • Shiriken or death star.
  • Artificial knuckles made from plastic, or other similar hard material.

Click here to go back to the Questions about the license

I have recently moved, how do I notify the State Police of my new address?

You are required to notify the Kentucky State Police within thirty days after the changing of a permanent address. Failure to do so is a noncriminal violation with a penalty of twenty-five dollars payable to the clerk of the District Court. To change or update your address, you must complete a Carry Concealed Deadly Weapons Licensee Request for Change of Personal Information (KSP 121) at the office of the Sheriff of your county of residence. Once completed, the Sheriff will forward the information to the Kentucky State Police.

Click here to go back to the Questions about the license

Some of the information listed on my CCDW license is incorrect. How do I notify the State Police of this?

To change or update your personal information, you must complete a Carry Concealed Deadly Weapons Licensee Request for Change of Personal Information (KSP 121) at the office of the Sheriff of your county of residence. Once completed, the Sheriff will forward the information to the Kentucky State Police.

Click here to go back to the Questions about the license

For more information on Concealed Deadly Weapons please call: 502-782-9781