News Release

For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:

Trooper Robert Purdy
Public Affairs Officer
Kentucky State Police
Post 7, Richmond
(859) 623-2404
Click here to e-mail Trooper Robert Purdy

KSP Richmond Post is Cramming a Cruiser for Hungry Families

Pictured left to right: Bret Jackson (Co–Manager of Richmond Kroger), Whitney Collins (Kroger Cultural Council Leader) and Tpr. Robert Purdy, click here to enlarge in a new window

Date of News Release: 12/02/2013

(Richmond, KY) – The Kentucky State Police in Richmond is participating in the 5th annual "Cram the Cruiser" until December 13th. Anyone wishing to provide non–perishable food items can drop them off at the KSP Richmond Post or at the Richmond Kroger Marketplace.

On Saturday, December 7th from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm, the Kentucky State Police will be collecting donations at the Kroger Marketplace in Richmond located at the intersection of the Eastern Bypass and US 25 South. Hot dogs and drinks will be provided to people that contribute non–perishable food items during the event. There will also be a Santa Clause at Kroger beginning at 9:00 am for families with young children.

"We have been fortunate to be able to partner with Kroger and Pepsi again this year to collect food for families this holiday season" said Trooper Robert Purdy. "It is exciting to see the community come together to help feed local families that are in need."

The Cram the Cruiser Campaign in 2012 gathered more than 100,000 pounds of food for local shelters, churches or other organizations serving families in need during the holiday season. Suggested donations include canned fruit and vegetables, canned meat, macaroni and cheese, cereal, peanut butter, jelly, canned soups, chili or spaghetti sauce, brownie and cake mixes, coffee, water, powdered milk and juices.

Kentucky State Police Post 7 is located at 699 Eastern Bypass, Richmond, KY 40475 and serves the counties of Boyle, Clark, Estill, Garrard, Jackson, Jessamine, Lee, Lincoln, Madison, Mercer, and Owsley.

Last Update: