News Releases

Post 15 Trooper Island Golf Scramble

Date of News Release: 05/06/2014

Click here to download the 2014 KSP Post 15 Trooper Island Golf Scramble Entry form

(Columbia, KY.) – The 2014 Post 15 Trooper Island Golf Scramble is scheduled for Friday, June 13, 2014 at 2:00 PM CST (3:00 PM EDT) with lunch/registration beginning at 1:00 PM CST. The entry fee is $260.00 per team (4 players A, B, C, D) and includes golf, cart, lunch and 1 golf shirt per player ($50. Value). Prizes will be awarded for the top 3 finishing team. Dixon Golf will be sponsoring the tournament and the top 3 winning teams will receive entry into the "Big Tournament" www.biggesttournament.com as well as having an opportunity for more prizes (Hole-in-One and Dixon Challenge). To register: contact TFC. Billy Gregory at william.gregory@ky.gov or by calling 270-805-1703.

Trooper Island Camp was developed by the Kentucky State Police as part of a long range program of public service to the youth of Kentucky: a place where the tensions and turmoil of our everyday lives can be forgotten; and for one week young people can be given a touch of hope and desire of a better tomorrow. Spearheaded by former State Police Director, Colonel James E. Bassett, the idea was to establish a permanent recreational site where trooper and child could share a week long experience. A location was selected in a secluded corner of Dale Hollow Lake near the Cumberland and Clinton County line, where an island was leased from the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, and a non-profit charitable corporation was formed. Over 700 boys and girls from around the state attend Trooper Island which is funded by private contributions and fundraisers.