KSP Banner KSP Banner

News Releases

KSP Post 1 Graduates Fifth Citizens Police Academy

Date of News Release: 05/21/2014

photo of graduates

(Murray, KY) -- On Tuesday, May 20, 2014, the Kentucky State Police Post 1 - Mayfield graduated 27 local people from the post's Citizen's Police Academy. The classes were held at the Murray Calloway County Transit Authority in Murray, KY. The 10-week academy started on March 18, 2014 and concluded May 20, 2014.

The ceremony was held at the Murray Calloway County Transit Authority in Murray where Captain Nathan Kent, Commander of Post 1-Mayfield, was on hand to assist Trooper Jay Thomas present the participants with their graduation certificates.

During the course of the 10-week academy, the participants learned about the many facets of the Kentucky State Police including patrol, traffic stops, collision investigations, commercial vehicle enforcement, criminal investigations, drug investigations, dispatching and Trooper Island. Participants also took part in simulated traffic stops and a ride along with a Trooper.

Graduating from the class were; Peggy Adams, Kenya Atherton, Seth Buch, Mike Dail, Ethan Donohoo, Barbara Doran, Dalton Holshouser, Wesley Hughes, Kari Joyce, Lisa Kell, Larry Kitchen, Burneda Koenig, Karl Koenig, Michael Massey, Lee Ann Myers, Patricia Pierce, Timothy Polley, Robert Scales, Justin Schwinn, Jeff Sedberry, Lisa Taylor, Gloria Thomas, Shelly Todd, Arielle Tullar, Trista Tyson, Brittany White, and Rachel Wicker.