KSP Banner KSP Banner

News Release

Six Local Troopers Receive Awards

Date of News Release: 8/7/2017

awards awards
awards awards

MAYFIELD, KY (July 25, 2017) – Four Kentucky State Troopers assigned to Post 1, along with two local Troopers assigned to the agency’s Drug Investigation and Special Investigations (DESI) branch, received recognition from Justice Secretary John Tilley and Kentucky State Police Commissioner Richard Sanders, at a ceremony held July 21 in Lexington.

“The past few years have been challenging times for law enforcement,” said Sanders. “With attacks on police across the country, it can negatively impact the morale of our officers. So when we have opportunities to recognize our officers for their dedicated service, it reaffirms our support for them and what they do on a daily basis.”

“Those who protect and serve put their lives on the line every day for the safety of our families and communities,” Secretary John Tilley told the gathering of officers, family and friends at the ceremony. “These awards recognize troopers and officers whose actions have demonstrated bravery above and beyond expectations, and for that the Commonwealth is grateful.”

Senior Trooper Eric Fields, a Livingston County resident, received the KSP Citation for Bravery, an honor bestowed on officers of the agency who perform acts of bravery, without regard for personal risk despite clear and obvious peril, and clearly above and beyond the call or risk of ordinary duty. This citation was issued in reference to a 2015 incident in Lyon County which began as a drug investigation. During his response, Trooper Fields encountered a man pointing a handgun at him and other law enforcement officers. Trooper Fields told the man to drop the weapon before ultimately shooting the suspect. Trooper Fields’ actions caused the suspect to drop his weapon and neutralized the threat to himself and the other officers who were present. Trooper Fields acted swiftly and effectively, reflected professionalism and excellent training, ensuring all officers at the scene remained unharmed.

Trooper Adam Jones, DESI Detective Richie Wright, and DESI Sergeant Dean Patterson, all Graves County residents, received the Citation for Meritorious Service, bestowed on officers of the agency who distinguish themselves by an act of meritorious service of such exceptional character that it contributed to the success of a major command or endeavor. Also receiving this award in reference to the same investigation were retired DESI Detectives John Saylor, Shawn Ramage, Jason Kirk, as well as current DESI Detective Carlo Anderson. This citation was issued in reference to a two year investigation into a drug trafficking organization which was also involved in illegal firearms trafficking and other illegal activities. The investigation began in 2015 and concluded with the entry of guilty pleas in federal court for 11 co-conspirators in December of 2016. During the investigation, over 4 ½ pounds of methamphetamine, dozens of firearms and vehicles, multiple pieces of real estate, and over $1 million in cash and other assets were seized. The investigation covered multiple western Kentucky counties as well as other states. It involved the assistance of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, Department of Homeland Security, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives, and local law enforcement agencies in the associated states.

Master Trooper Lewie Dodd, a Lyon County resident, was named the 2016 KSP Post 1 Trooper of the Year. Trooper Dodd is a 19 year veteran with KSP. During 2016, Master Trooper Dodd issued 673 citations, opened 32 criminal cases, and made 181 criminal arrests. Master Trooper Dodd also participates on the Post 1 Interdiction Team as time allows, and has seized over 140 pounds of marijuana and over $10,000 cash. KSP Post 1 Captain Janet Barnett noted in her letter of recommendation, “Master Trooper Dodd has gone above and beyond in erecting and maintaining the roadside memorials for Troopers Chrisman and Ponder. He does this not for recognition or praise, but out of a sense of respect and honor.”

Detective Cory Hamby, a McCracken County resident, was named the 2016 KSP Post 1 Detective of the Year. Detective Hamby is a 7 year veteran with KSP, with two of those years as Detective. During 2016, Detective Hamby investigated three murder cases as well as numerous other death investigations, assaults, sexual assaults, and theft cases. His letter of recommendation noted his leadership skills, teamwork, professionalism, initiative, efficiency, and reliability. “He epitomizes exactly what a KSP Trooper and Detective should be and is thus a great asset to this agency,” said Captain Barnett.