Safe Schools


For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky

Safe School Logo

In the wake of the recent school violence, and after a strong demand from areas schools, the Kentucky State Police (KSP) with input from school administrators across the state, have developed a program aimed at helping all schools respond effectively during an active shooting incident.

The program does not set school policy. It provides four levels of KSP assistance to aid school officials in establishing their own action plans.

School administrators, depending on the need of the individual schools, can choose any one or all four levels of the assistance being offered.

Level 1 Click here for more information

Level 1

KSP will provide on-site visits to the requesting school where a review of the schools current plan of action will be conducted and evaluated. Recommendations for school protocols, if requested by school officials, will be provided from the KSP school safety pamphlet.

Level 2 Click here for more information

Level 2

KSP will assist and participate in school 'lock down' drills. Provide feedback and additional information to school officials based on the 'most likely' police responses and needs.

Level 3 Click here for more information

Level 3

KSP will provide an on-site visit and walk through assessing strengths and weaknesses of the facility. Provide 'target hardening' information to schools officials via the KSP multi-layered school security checklist.

Level 4 Click here for more information

Level 4

KSP will provide a three-hour block of job specific training for school personnel designed to give options for consideration when facing an active shooter. Training will consist of classroom instruction along with the opportunity to take part in realistic scenarios to build their confidence to survive an active shooting event.

Supplemental Documents

Click here to download the Safe School Brochure (.pdf format)

Links to Other Resources

Click here to go to Kentucky Center for School Safety Website

Safe School Post Contact Information Click here for more information

Safe School Post Contact Information

Post Supervisor
KSP Post 1 Mayfield - (270) 856-3721 Lt. Brent White
KSP Post 2 Madisonville - (270) 676-3313 Sgt. Nicholas Rice
KSP Post 3 Bowling Green - (270) 782-2010 Sgt. Tucker Carmichael
KSP Post 4 Elizabethtown - (270) 766-5078 Sgt. Kevin Warrell
KSP Post 5 Campbellsburg - (502) 532-6363 Sgt. David Trimble
KSP Post 6 Dry Ridge - 859) 428-1212 Sgt. Mac McDonald
KSP Post 7 Richmond - (859) 623-2404 Sgt. Toby Coyle
KSP Post 8 Morehead - (606) 784-4127 Sgt. Brian Evans
KSP Post 9 Pikeville - (606) 433-7711 Sgt. Ron Peppi
KSP Post 10 Harlan - (606) 573-3131 Lt. Jason Adams
KSP Post 11 London - (606) 878-6622 Lt. Bill Elliotte
KSP Post 12 Frankfort - (502) 227-2221 Lt. Todd Kidd
KSP Post 13 Hazard - (606) 435-6069 Lt. Claude Little
KSP Post 14 Ashland - (606) 928-6421 Capt. James Stephens
KSP Post 15 Columbia - (270) 384-4796 Lt. Jeremy Johnson
KSP Post 16 Henderson - (270) 826-3312 Sgt. Jackie Carver

Kentucky State Police Posts Map

Post 1 - Ballard, Calloway, Carlisle, Fulton, Graves, Hickman, Livingston, Lyon, Marshall, McCracken and Trigg Counities, Click here to go to Post 1 Home Page Post 2 - Caldwell, Christian, Crittenden, Hopkins, Muhlenberg, Todd and Webster Counties, Click here to go to Post 2 Home Page ost 3 - Allen, Barren, Butler, Edmonson, Hart, Logan, Simpson and Warren Counties, Click here to go to Post 3 Home Page Post 4 - Breckenridge, Bullitt, Grayson, Hardin, Larue, Jefferson, Meade, and Nelson Counties, Click here to go Post 4 Home Page Post 16 -Daviess, Hancock, Henderson, McLean, Ohio, and Union Counties, Click here to go to Post 16 Home Page Post 5 - Carroll, Gallatin, Henry, Oldham, Owen, and Trimble Counties, Click here to go to Post 5 Home Pag Post 12 - Anderson, Fayette, Franklin, Scott, Shelby, Spencer, and Woodford Counties, Click here to go Post 12 Home Page Post 15 - Adair, Casey, Clinton, Cumberland, Green, Marion, Metcalfe, Monroe, Russell, Taylor and Washington Counties, Click here to go to Post 15 Home Page Post 7 - Boyle, Clark, Estill, Garrard, Jackson, Jessamine, Lincoln,  Lee, Madison, Mercer, and Owsley Counties, Click here to Post 7 Home Page Post 6 - Boone, Bourbon, Bracken, Campbell, Grant, Harrison, Kenton, Nicholas, Pendleton
and Robertson Counties, Click here to go to Post 6 Home Page Post 8 - Bath, Elliott, Fleming, Lewis, Mason, Menifee, Morgan, Montgomery, Powell, Rowan and Wolfe Counties, Click here to go Post 8 Home Page Post 14 - Boyd, Carter, Greenup, and Lawrence Counties, Click here to go to Post 14 Home Page Post 9 - Floyd, Johnson, Magoffin, Martin and Pike Counties, Click here to Post 9 Home Page Post 11 - Clay, Laurel, McCreary, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Wayne, and Whitley Counties, Click here to go to Post 11 Home Page Post 10 - Bell, Harlan, and Knox Counties, Click here to go to Post 10 Home Page Post 13 - Breathitt, Knott, Leslie, Letcher, and Perry Counties, Click here to go to Post 13 Home Page An image of Kentucky and Post Locations by Post Number

Last Update: