Sex Offender Registry (SOR)

Pursuant to KRS 17.580, the Kentucky State Police provides sex offender registration information to the public through this website. The intent of this site is to promote public safety and awareness by alerting possible victims of potential danger, not to punish or embarrass offenders.

Convicted sex offenders have always lived in our communities; only in recent years have laws been passed which have required these offenders to register with authorities.

Unfortunately, many convicted sex offenders do re-offend. There is an overriding public interest and need to ensure the safety of the public by providing information concerning registered offenders to the public. It is important to note that not all criminal offenses require registration with the Kentucky State Police, only those covered by statute.

Do you need to report information regarding non-emergency criminal activity on the part of a registered sex offender? You can report tips on suspected activity by contacting your local law enforcement agency (police department, sheriff, or nearest Kentucky State Police post).

Never submit information of an emergency nature via this website. In the event of an emergency, please dial 911 or telephone your local law enforcement agency immediately.

Sex Offender Alert Line

Up-to-date, real time information regarding the release of registered sex offenders into local communities is available through a program developed by the Kentucky State Police in cooperation with the Department of Corrections and the Division of Child Abuse and Domestic Violence Services.

The Sex Offender Alert Line is an easy way for parents, school personnel, day care workers and any citizen to have an impact on crime and to take proactive steps in protecting children.

Using the Sex Offender Alert Line does not require a computer, only a phone. Place a toll free telephone call to 1-866-564-5652 and provide your telephone number and up to three zip codes to monitor. Calls can be made 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

As soon as the Kentucky State Police receive notice that a registered sex offender is moving into one of the zip code areas that you entered, you will receive a notification call which will direct you to the Kentucky State Police Sex Offender Registry website at http://kspsor.state.ky.us for more information.

The Alert Line system will attempt calls every two hours for a 24- hour period beginning at 7:00 a.m. and ending at 9:00 p.m. Calls will not be made between the hours of 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. to prevent children from receiving the call. The notification is capable of being left on a telephone answering machine.

It is not necessary to own a computer in order to register for and use the Sex Offender Alert Line. Citizens that do not have computers can utilize systems with free Internet access at any public library in Kentucky.

Sex Offender Registry Legal Disclaimer

"THE KENTUCKY STATE POLICE DOES NOT AND CANNOT GUARANTEE THE ACCURACY OF THE INFORMATION PROVIDED ON THIS WEBSITE.

UNDER KRS 525.070 AND 525.080, USE OF INFORMATION OBTAINED FROM THIS WEB SITE TO HARASS A PERSON IDENTIFIED ON THIS WEB SITE IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE PUNISHABLE BY UP TO NINETY (90) DAYS IN THE COUNTY JAIL.  MORE SEVERE CRIMINAL PENALTIES APPLY FOR MORE SEVERE CRIMES COMMITTED AGAINST A PERSON IDENTIFIED ON THIS WEB SITE."

"The information in the Sex Offender Registry FAQ is provided solely for the convenience of the public and is not intended to constitute a formal legal opinion or legal advice. You may wish to consult an attorney if you have any questions on sex offender registration requirements. "

Unless specifically stated otherwise, the information contained herein is based on the current version of the Sex Offender Registration Act and is not intended to address previous statutory requirements.

BY USING THIS WEB SITE, THE USER ACKNOWLEDGES THAT HE OR SHE HAS READ THE ABOVE DISCLAIMER.

Sex Offender Registry FAQ

Click on any of the Sex Offender Registry FAQ below to see more about that subject.

How do I get my name off the SOR (Sex Offender Register) Alert Line?

When some one wants to be removed from the SOR Alert Line they need to call 1-866-564-5652 and stay on the line till someone answer the phone.

How much information do I have to type to get a response from the website?

Generally, the easiest way to search is by entering the minimum information needed. Typing information in only one of the search fields will give you the most results. For example, just entering the county name in the search field will  list all offenders registered in that county. You can then "click" on each offender that you want to view, and see more specific information about them.

Why do some offenders not have photos displayed on the website?

Prior to April 11, 2000, offenders were not required to provide a photograph as part of the registration process. We are currently researching for old mug shot and booking photos of these offenders so they can be added. This process is just time consuming and in many cases the mug shot or booking photo is not available. The pictures we find are being added to the site as they are located. Effective July 12, 2006 offenders will be required to return to the appropriate local probation and parole office not less than one (1) time every two (2) years in order for a new photograph to be obtained. Once the updated photographs have been received, the website will be updated accordingly.

What can I do with the information I get from the Sex Offender Website?

The information obtained from the website is considered to be public record and can be freely disseminated to anyone, without fear of civil penalties (see KRS 17.580).

There is, however, a specific statutory restriction against using this information to "Harass" a registered sexual offender and the website contains a warning to prevent harassment. Kentucky law penalizes criminal harassment See KRS 525.070 Harassment and KRS 525.080 Harassing Communications for specific legal definitions.

How can I find out what the legal charge of RAPE 1st Degree or SEXUAL ABUSE 1st Degree actually means?

Follow the link to the Legislative Searching Service, and type the charge name (i.e. Rape 1st) or the KRS number (i.e. 510.040) in the top search field, this will return the legal definition of that charge.

What if I want to find out more details about what actually took place regarding this offenders charge and conviction, where do I get that type of information?

The information listed on the website is all the Kentucky State Police are allowed to release about the offender. However, the Administrative Office of the Courts maintains a public access court records system in the Circuit Clerk's Office at each county courthouse/judicial center.

These court records may be open to the public, and may provide details about the offender and the crime he/she committed. However, only the Circuit Clerk in the county in which the offender was convicted would have information on the offense. Also, if the offender was convicted in another state, information concerning that conviction would not be available at a Kentucky Circuit Court and would need to be requested from the state in which the offender was convicted.

Have all of the offenders listed been convicted of committing crimes against children?

No, pursuant to KRS 17.500 and 17.510, convictions for sex crimes against adult victims also require registration.

What if I know of someone who I think was convicted of a sex crime, but the person is not listed on the website?

Offenders are not registered until they are released from prison, so the offender may still be incarcerated for the charge. To check for offenders still in prison, click on the Department of Corrections KOOL link call the VINE system at 1-800-511-1670.

Keep in mind that many people are not actually convicted of the original charge brought against them. In addition, offenders who move out of Kentucky to other states and have their registration transferred to that state, are no longer "active" registrants in Kentucky, since they are not within our legal jurisdiction. They must follow the offender registration laws of the state that they move to.

Does everyone ever convicted of a sex crime have to register in Kentucky?

No, only offenders convicted of statutorily covered crimes who fit the following criteria:

  • Convicted after July 15, 1994 of a sex crime;
  • Incarcerated or sentenced after July 15, 1998 for a sex crime (even if convicted prior to July 16, 1994);
  • Convicted or released from incarceration (even if convicted prior to July 16, 1994) after April 11, 2000 for a criminal offense against a victim who is a minor;
  • Required to register in another jurisdiction (state, territory, federal) or has committed an offense under the laws of another state or territory that would require registration if committed in Kentucky; or
  • Convicted of a sex crime or criminal offense against a victim who is a minor under federal law, military law or the laws of another state, territory or other country; or
  • Committed or designated as a Sexually Violent Predator under the laws of another state, territory, other country or under federal law."

Are all offenders listed on the site on some type of probation or parole?

No, a majority of the offenders listed on the site are not currently being supervised by any state authority. These offenders "served out" their sentences, or completed their probationary periods, and are now free to move around and carry on with their lives, as long as they continue to follow the requirements of the sex offender registration law.

Is it illegal for registered offenders to live near schools or daycare type facilities or live in homes where children are present?

KRS 17.545 prohibits registered sex offenders from living near schools, daycare facilities and publicly owned playgrounds. These offenders are prohibited from living within 1,000 feet of a high school, middle school, elementary school, preschool, publicly owned playground, or licensed day care facility. The measurement is taken in a straight line from the nearest property line of the school to the nearest property line of the registrant's place of residence. This restriction does not apply to a youthful offender probated or paroled during his or her minority or while enrolled in an elementary or a secondary education program. However, once the youthful offender registrant attains the age of majority (18 years old) and is no longer a student in an elementary or secondary education program he or she is subject to the residence restriction at that point.

In addition, offenders under supervision may be restricted by the conditions of their probation or parole from living or working in areas where children are present, depending on the conditions placed upon them by the sentencing judge or the parole board.

In Com. v. Baker, 295 S.W.3d 437 (Ky.,2009), the Supreme Court of Kentucky stated in part that:

"The question of law to be answered is whether KRS 17.545, which restricts where registered sex offenders may live, may be applied to those who committed their offenses prior to July 12, 2006, the effective date of the statute. We hold that it may not."

The Kentucky State Police do not evaluate or approve particular locations for compliance with sex offender residence restrictions. If you have any questions concerning whether you are subject to the residence restrictions in KRS 17.545 or whether you may legally reside at a particular location you may wish to consult an attorney.

Who is responsible for determining whether an offender lives within a thousand feet of a school?

It is the duty of the registered sex offender to ascertain whether a school, daycare facility or publicly owned playground is within one thousand (1,000) feet of the registrant's residence.

What if a registered sex offender is already living at a given location and a new school, daycare facility or publicly owned playground opens within one thousand (1,000) feet of the registrant's residence?

If a new school, daycare facility or publicly owned playground opens within one thousand (1,000) feet of the registrant's residence, the registrant shall be presumed to know of this and must move within ninety (90) days. This restriction does not apply to a youthful offender probated or paroled during his or her minority or while enrolled in an elementary or a secondary education program. However, once the youthful offender registrant attains the age of majority (18 years old) and is no longer a student in an elementary or secondary education program he or she is subject to the residence restriction at that point.

What is the penalty if a registered sex offender lives within one thousand feet of a school, daycare facility or publicly owned playground in violation of KRS 17.545?

Any person who violates KRS 17.545 shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor for a first offense and a Class D felony for the second and each subsequent offense.

What's the difference between the lifetime and twenty-year registrants?

An offender's length of registration is based on a number of statutory requirements, which include: the type of offense they were convicted of, whether they have multiple convictions, a history of convictions for crimes that constitute sexual offenses or who have been convicted of specified crimes against victims who are minors.

Two registration periods are established by statute, lifetime and twenty years. Lifetime registrants must, of course, register for the rest of their lives. Lifetime registration is mandatory for offenders convicted, released, or registered after April 11, 2000 for the crimes of: Rape 1st Degree; Sodomy 1st Degree; Kidnapping or Unlawful Confinement of a Minor (except by a parent); those convicted of a sex crime who have prior convictions of specified offenses; those convicted of two or more felony criminal offenses against victims who are minors; all offenders moving into Kentucky and registering from another state or anyone designated as a Sexually Violent Predator in another jurisdiction. All other registrants must register for twenty years.

Twenty-year registrants must register for 20 years following discharge from confinement or for 20 years following the maximum discharge date on probation, shock probation, conditional discharge, parole or other form of early release, whichever is greater.

If offenders are re-incarcerated, their time on the registry is placed on "hold" while they are incarcerated, and resumes again once they are released.

How do you get the offender's addresses and what happens if they move?

Registered sex offenders report their address to the Department of Corrections prior to their release from prison, or the Division of Probation & Parole upon being assigned probation or moving in from another state. The information is collected on a standard offender registration form, which the offender must sign, and is then forwarded to the Kentucky State Police for inclusion in the database and placement on the website.

If an offender decides to move, he/she must report the address change to the local Probation & Parole office on an address change form prior to actually moving. This form is then forwarded to the Kentucky State Police for updating the offender's records, including the website.

If an offender moves without following the proper procedure, and it is discovered, then he/she is considered to be "Non-Compliant" and is subject to being charged with a Class D felony for the first offense and a Class C felony for each subsequent offense.

The offender's address can be obtained from the website. If you suspect an offender has moved from the address listed on the website, you should report this suspected violation to the law enforcement agency that serves your area so that an investigation may be conducted.

How are offender's addresses verified?

The address verification procedure is conducted by sending an address verification form to the offender's registered address, which must be signed by the offender and returned within 10 days. Lifetime registrants have their addresses verified every 90 days, while the addresses of ten-year and twenty-year registrants are verified annually.

If an offender fails to respond to the address verification form, they are deemed non-compliant and local authorities are notified. The offender is then subject to being charged with a Class D felony for the first offense and a Class C felony for each subsequent offense.

Are registrants required to provide updated photographs?

Yes. KRS 17.510(4) provides that registrants are required to return to the appropriate local probation and parole office not less than once every two years in order for a new photograph to be obtained. The registrant must pay the cost of updating the photo for registration purposes.

Where do I report information regarding criminal activity on the part of a registered sex offender?

You can report tips on suspected criminal activity of a non-emergency nature to your local law enforcement agency (police department, sheriff, or nearest Kentucky State Police post). Never submit information of an emergency nature via this website. In the event of an emergency, please dial 911 or telephone your local law enforcement agency immediately.

May a sex offender use a social networking website, internet chat room or instant messaging website?

KRS 17.546 provides that:

  1. "(1) As used in this section:
    1. "Instant messaging or chat room program" means a software program that allows two (2) or more persons to communicate over the Internet in real time using typed text; and
    2. "Social networking Web site" means an Internet Web site that:
      1. Facilitates the social introduction between two (2) or more persons;
      2. Allows a person to create a Web page or a personal profile; and
      3. Provides a person who visits the Web site the opportunity to communicate with another person.
  2. No registrant, as defined in KRS 17.500, shall knowingly or intentionally use a social networking Web site or an instant messaging or chat room program if that Web site or program allows a person who is less than eighteen (18) years of age to access or use the Web site or program.
  3. Any person who violates subsection (2) of this section shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor."

Dru Sjodin National Sex Offender Public Website

Dru Sjodin National Sex Offender Public Website