[Academy] [Cold Cases] [Commercial Vehicle Enforcement] [Commissioner's Office] [Concealed Deadly Weapons] [Contacting the KSP] [Core Values] [Crime & Traffic Information] [Fallen Trooper Memorial] [FAQs] [Forensic Laboratories] [Forms/Downloads] [Highway Safety] [History of the KSP] [Home Page] [Internet Crimes Against Children Task Force] [Kentucky's Most Wanted] [Links to Other Websites] [Missing Children] [News Releases] [Organization] [Post Locations] [Recruitment] [Sex Offender Registry] [Special Enforcement Troop] [Trooper Island]
[Return to Kentucky State Police Main Website]

For other Kentucky Government sites visit: [Kentucky.gov]


News Release

Media / For More Information Contact:
Sergeant Michael B. Webb
Kentucky State Police
Public Affairs Branch
Office (502) 782-1780

Kentucky State Police Announce Civilian Employee Of The Year And Other Awards

Date of News Release: 10/23/2012

(Frankfort, KY.) - Twenty-five civilian employees were honored by the Kentucky State Police at a ceremony held today at the Capital Plaza Hotel in Frankfort.

Frankfort- resident Lori Hunsaker was named 2012 KSP Civilian Employee of the Year. A 17-year veteran of the agency, Hunsaker is an Internal Policy Analyst II with the Public Affairs Branch at KSP headquarters in Frankfort.

Hunsaker earned the honor for her work in organizing relief efforts for victims of the tornados that devastated eastern Kentucky on March 2, 2012. After the storms, she quickly organized a donation drive that involved a multitude of community partners and KSP personnel. Some of the challenges that she faced included storage for all donations, contact persons at each affected site, distribution networks and delivery routes. All of this occurred when those areas were without cell phone service and communication was limited.

She also organized a volunteer staff from KSP headquarters and Frankfort area employees to go to West Liberty and personally deliver donated items to members of the community.

In less than two weeks time, Hunsaker's efforts resulted in 11 semi-trailers, eight box trucks and four school buses being filled with donations and delivered to Morgan, Menifee, Pendleton, Laurel, Floyd, Johnson, Grant and Kenton counties. She personally delivered items to more than 50 families in Morgan and Johnson counties.

A native of Hazard, Hunsaker is a 1984 graduate of Hazard High School. She is the daughter of the late Paul Bailey and Carol Bailey, of Hazard.

"Lori'ss unparalleled efforts are an example of the influence that one motivated person can have," said KSP Commissioner Rodney Brewer. "She has spent so much time giving to others and providing for others that there is truly no measure of the impact that she has made. We are very lucky to have her as a part of our team."

Other KSP civilian employees who received awards included:

Police Communications Support Award

Charles Broaddus, Police Telecommunicator Supervisor, Post 7-Richmond
Rebecca Henry, Police Telecommunicator II, Post 6-Dry Ridge
Marcus Lands, Police Telecommunicator II, Post 8-Morehead
James Offutt, Police Telecommunicator II, Post 2-Madisonville

Clerical Support Service Award

Patty Hedges, Administrative Specialist III, Public Affairs Branch
Susan Gardner, Administrative Specialist III, Operations Division
Cathy Meade, Administrative Specialist III, Post 1-Mayfield
Autumn Scruggs, Administrative Specialist II, Drug Enforcement/Special Investigations West

Driver Testing Administrative Support Award

Central Office: Lou Ann Clayton, Program Coordinator I
Region 1: Chasity Perry, Certified Driver Testing Administrator II

Forensic Services Support Award

Laboratory Analyst: Shannon Phelps, Forensic Scientist Specialist II, Central Laboratory Branch, Frankfort
Regional Laboratory Analyst: Tracy Easton, Forensic Scientist Specialist II, Jefferson Laboratory Branch, Louisville
Forensic Laboratory Supervisor: Jeremy Triplett, Forensic Laboratory Supervisor, Central Laboratory Branch, Frankfort

Commercial Vehicle Support Award

Carolyn Collins, Office Support Assistant II, Region 4-London
Billy M. Taylor, CVE Inspector II, Region 2-Louisville

Administrative Support Service Award

Jay Jacobs, Program Coordinator, Recruitment Branch
Lori Hunsaker, Internal Policy Analyst II, Public Affairs Branch

Administrative Support Supervisor Award

Phyllis Holcomb, Administrative Branch Manager, Supply Branch

Scientific Support Service Award

John Bruner, Polygraph Examiner III, Polygraph Section<

Computer Technology Technical Support Award

Kent Kilgore, Systems Engineer IT, Communications and Computer Technologies Branch

Records Technical Support Service Award

Serenity Metcalf, Program Coordinator, Sex Offender Registry

Maintenance Support Service Award

Dennis Givens, Maintenance Worker II, Supply Branch

Communications Technical Support Award

Brian Heise, Network Analyst III, Communications Section-Post 7

Properties Management & Supply Technical Support Service Award

Estill Keith, Automotive Body Repairer II, Supply Branch

Operational Support Award

Shayla Burris, Criminal Intelligence Analyst II, Intelligence Branch

"These award winners represent the best of the best of our civilian employees," said Brewer. "They truly are the underpinning of the Kentucky State Police and epitomize the professional image that we constantly strive to project."

Contact Information for the Kentucky State Police

Kentucky State Police
919 Versailles Road | Frankfort, KY 40601

[ TOP ]

This page was last modified on:

About this site | Feedback | Privacy | Disclaimer | Individuals with Disabilities
Copyright © 2002-2013 Kentucky State Police, all rights reserved