[Academy] [Cold Cases] [Commercial Vehicle Enforcement] [Commissioner's Office] [Concealed Deadly Weapons] [Contacting the KSP] [Core Values] [Crime & Traffic Information] [Fallen Trooper Memorial] [FAQs] [Forensic Laboratories] [Forms/Downloads] [Highway Safety] [History of the KSP] [Home Page] [Internet Crimes Against Children Task Force] [Kentucky's Most Wanted] [Links to Other Websites] [Missing Children] [News Releases] [Organization] [Post Locations] [Recruitment] [Sex Offender Registry] [Special Enforcement Troop] [Trooper Island]
[Return to Kentucky State Police Main Website]

For other Kentucky Government sites visit: [Kentucky.gov]




For More Information Contact:
Capt. David Jude
(502) 782-1780

Troopers Recognized For DUI Enforcement Efforts

Date of News Release: 12/11/2006

(FRANKFORT, Ky.) - Sixteen KSP troopers and one sergeant were recognized at the 2006 Governor's Impaired Driving Enforcement Awards ceremony held in Louisville on Dec. 12. They were part of a group of 190 law enforcement officers from 186 agencies across the state who were recognized for their efforts to keep impaired drivers off the roads.

Together, these KSP troopers accounted for 1,253 impaired driving arrests during the past year. As an agency, KSP made 9,712 impaired driving arrests during this time period. "Each of these arrests may have saved a life," said KSP Commissioner Jack Adams.

"These awards recognize your work and dedication to saving lives of Kentuckians," said Justice and Public Safety Cabinet Secretary Gen. Norman Arflack. "These officers are proof positive that the problem of driving under the influence can and will be overcome."

Those receiving awards included: Tpr. Cory Jessup, Post 1 (76 arrests); Tpr. Dan Morck, Post 2 (105 arrests); Tpr. Erik Salman, Post 3, (46 arrests); Tpr. Jonathan Vaughn, Post 4, (66 arrests); Tpr. James Mitchell, Post 5 (36 arrests); Tpr. Delzie Kelly, Post 6 (43 arrests); Tpr. Toby Coyle, Post 7 (61 arrests); Tpr. Chris Hollon and Tpr. Toney Allen, Post 8 (59 arrests each); Tpr. Austin Hicks, Post 9 (49 arrests); Tpr. Jason York, Post 10 (74 arrests), Sgt. Steve Walker, Post 11 (184 arrests); Tpr. Mitch Harris, Post 12 (69 arrests); Tpr. Joey King, Post 13 (41 arrests); Tpr. Shane Goodall, Post 14 (76 arrests); Tpr. Jeremy Johnson, Post 15 (70 arrests) and Tpr. Paul Herron, Post 16 (139 arrests).

Sgt. Steve Walker was also named a division winner for his 184 impaired driving arrests, the top individual effort for all KSP posts. A 20-year KSP veteran, Walker worked as an emergency medical technician before becoming a trooper. He remembers holding the victim of an impaired driver in his arms while they died.

When he became a state trooper, he decided to pursue every impaired driver he could "so that wouldn't happen to others," he said.

Since then, Walker has more than 3,000 impaired driving arrests to his credit. It's a record he looks on with pride due to the many lives saved as a result.

Contact Information for the Kentucky State Police

Kentucky State Police
919 Versailles Road | Frankfort, KY 40601

[ TOP ]

This page was last modified on:

About this site | Feedback | Privacy | Disclaimer | Individuals with Disabilities
Copyright © 2002-2013 Kentucky State Police, all rights reserved