[Academy] [Cold Cases] [Commercial Vehicle Enforcement] [Commissioner's Office] [Concealed Deadly Weapons] [Contacting the KSP] [Core Values] [Crime & Traffic Information] [Fallen Trooper Memorial] [FAQs] [Forensic Laboratories] [Forms/Downloads] [Highway Safety] [History of the KSP] [Home Page] [Internet Crimes Against Children Task Force] [Kentucky's Most Wanted] [Links to Other Websites] [Missing Children] [News Releases] [Organization] [Post Locations] [Recruitment] [Sex Offender Registry] [Special Enforcement Troop] [Trooper Island]
[Return to Kentucky State Police Main Website]

For other Kentucky Government sites visit: [Kentucky.gov]



For More Information Contact:
Capt. David Jude
(502) 782-1780

Fifty-One Cadets Graduate
from Kentucky State Police Academy

(FRANKFORT, KY) - The Kentucky State Police Academy commissioned 51 new troopers during graduation ceremonies held today at the Farnham Dudgeon Civic Center in Frankfort. With their addition to the force, the agency boosts its strength to a total of 958 sworn officers serving the citizens of the Commonwealth.

In awarding the diplomas, Kentucky State Police Commissioner Patrick N. Simpson praised the dedication and perseverance of the cadets during their 22-week training period. "By completing this program, these men and women have achieved an admirable goal. They've made a conscious choice to serve the people of Kentucky. I welcome them to the department and look forward to their contributions to our mission of promoting public safety through service, integrity and professionalism."

The honorable James Keller, associate justice, Kentucky Supreme Court, District 5, administered the oath of office to the cadets. Judge Sara W. Combs, Kentucky Court of Appeals, 7th District, 1st Division, delivered the commencement address.

The graduates include two females, one African-American male and one Hispanic male. About a third of the class are former police officers.

Several members of the class earned special recognition including valedictorian Timothy Sales of Murray, Kentucky, salutatorian James Leathers of Greenville, South Carolina and overall fitness award winner Chad Winn of Bowling Green, Kentucky Shawn Darby of Nicholasville, Kentucky received the Ernie Bevins Award, an honor presented to the cadet who, in the opinion of the Kentucky State Police Academy staff supported by input from the cadets themselves, distinguishes themselves as a class leader, strives for academic excellence and has excelled in all phases of the academy's physical and vocational training.

The following is a list of the cadets, their hometowns and their duty assignments:


Hometown Assignment
James Catron Hindman, Kentucky Morehead
Jacqualine Caudill Whitesburg, Kentucky Morehead
Matthew Conley Paintsville, Kentucky Henderson
Brian Cooper Mt. Sterling, Kentucky Morehead
Fredrick Cornett Totz, Kentucky Columbia
Benjamin Cramer Paintsville, Kentucky Pikeville
Manuel Cruz Newark, New Jersey Elizabethtown
Shawn Darby Nicholasville, Kentucky Frankfort
Scott Doyle Cave City, Kentucky Henderson
Brian Duvall Murray, Kentucky Mayfield
Franklin Flowers Madison, Indiana Campbellsburg
Jeffery Hamilton Pikeville, Kentucky Pikeville
Steven Hamilton Harold, Kentucky Pikeville
Robert Harris Lexington, Kentucky Frankfort
Shane Jacobs Hindman, Kentucky Harlan
Jeremy Johnson Nancy, Kentucky Columbia
David Jones Cynthiana, Kentucky Dry Ridge
Jeff Keener Huntington, West Virginia Ashland
Bryan Layne Dana, Kentucky Pikeville
James Leathers Greenville, South Carolina London
Jeremy Lee Harlan, Kentucky Harlan
Ryan Loudermilk Brodhead, Kentucky London
Michelle Lunsford London, Kentucky Morehead
Christopher McKee Morgantown, Kentucky Madisonville
James Moore Hindman, Kentucky Harlan
Daniel Morck Mechanicsburg, PA Madisonville
William Over Hopkinsville, Kentucky Mayfield
Neal Pagan Owensboro, Kentucky Elizabethtown
Timothy Payne Owensboro, Kentucky Henderson
Jerry Perkins, Jr. Winchester, Kentucky Morehead
Lloyd Ray Central City, Kentucky Madisonville
Brinton Rollins Hindman, Kentucky Morehead
Andrew Rush  Owensboro, Kentucky Madisonville
Timothy Sales  Murray, Kentucky Mayfield
Erik Salman Scottsville, Kentucky Bowling Green
Oman Sandlin Viper, Kentucky Pikeville
Ryan Schnackel Old Town, Kentucky Morehead
Paul Secor  Louisville, Kentucky Campbellsburg
Bradwick Simmons Huntington, West Virginia Morehead
David Smith Priceville, Kentucky Columbia
Billy Sumner Hazard, Kentucky Madisonville
Camileo Threatt Hopkinsville, Kentucky Madisonville
Matthew Travis Bowling Green, Kentucky Madisonville
Mark Treadway Beattyville, Kentucky Henderson
Kevin Warrell Elizabethtown , Kentucky Elizabethown
John Williams Bowling Green, Kentucky  Columbia
Thomas Williams Smithland, Kentucky Mayfield
Chad Winn Bowling Green, Kentucky Bowling Green
Jason Young Pennington Gap, West Virginia Morehead
Jimmy Young II Pineville, Kentucky Harlan
Toby Young Columbia, Kentucky  Columbia

Contact Information for the Kentucky State Police

Kentucky State Police
919 Versailles Road | Frankfort, KY 40601

[ TOP ]

This page was last modified on:

About this site | Feedback | Privacy | Disclaimer | Individuals with Disabilities
Copyright © 2002-2013 Kentucky State Police, all rights reserved