[Academy] [Cold Cases] [Commercial Vehicle Enforcement] [Commissioner's Office] [Concealed Deadly Weapons] [Contacting the KSP] [Core Values] [Crime & Traffic Information] [Fallen Trooper Memorial] [FAQs] [Forensic Laboratories] [Forms/Downloads] [Highway Safety] [History of the KSP] [Home Page] [Internet Crimes Against Children Task Force] [Kentucky's Most Wanted] [Links to Other Websites] [Missing Children] [News Releases] [Organization] [Post Locations] [Recruitment] [Sex Offender Registry] [Special Enforcement Troop] [Trooper Island]
[Return to Kentucky State Police Main Website]

For other Kentucky Government sites visit: [Kentucky.gov]



For More Information Contact:
Capt. David Jude
(502) 782-1780

Buckle Up Kentucky Law Enforcement
 Challenge Awards Luncheon

Frankfort, KY - The Governor's Buckle Up Kentucky Law Enforcement Awards Luncheon was held at 11:30 a.m. Tuesday, August 13, 2002, at the Hyatt Regency in Lexington. Presentations were made to law enforcement agencies as well as individual officers throughout the state. Governor Paul Patton was the keynote speaker.

The Buckle Up Kentucky campaign was conducted from May 20 through June 2, 2002. During that time, over 100 law enforcement agencies throughout the Commonwealth participated in a high visibility traffic safety enforcement program with the following results:

Drug Arrests 731
DUI Arrests 1,351
Fugitives Apprehended 553
Stolen Vehicles Recovered


Speeding Citations


Other Arrests 2,302
Other Citations 19,648
Seat Belt Citations 6,895
Child Restraint Citations 505
Checkpoints Conducted 648

Sgt. Tony L. Young, Commander of the Governor's Highway Safety Program, said, "the purpose of the Buckle Up Kentucky campaign was to raise public awareness regarding seat belts and child restraints. By stepping up enforcement, we not only save lives, we reduce serious injuries and protect the safety of our children."

Agencies and officers that were honored today included the following:

1st Place Ferguson Police Department
2nd Place Wolfe County Sheriff's Department
3rd Place Irvine Police Department

Chief David Moss, Ferguson Police Department

1st Place Pikeville Police Department
2nd Place Middlesboro Police Department
3rd Place Barbourville Police Department

Deputy Jeff McMonigal, Greenup County Sheriff's Department

1st Place Place Oldham County Police Department
2nd Place Place Nicholasville Police Department
3rd Place Place Radcliff Police Department
1st Place Boone County Sheriff's Department
2nd Place Owensboro Police Department
3rd Place Bowling Green Police Department
1st Place Kentucky Vehicle Enforcement
2nd Place Lexington-Fayette Urban County  Police
3rd Place Jefferson County Police Department
1st Place Kentucky State Police Post 10
2nd Place Kentucky State Police Post 11
3rd Place Kentucky State Police Post 9

Individual Kentucky State Police troopers honored include the following:

Post 1 Trooper Michael Williams
Post 2 Trooper William Braden
Post 3 Trooper Forrest Winchester
Post 4 Trooper Jamie Heller
Post 5 Trooper Howard Rice
Post 6 Trooper L. Scott Miller
Post 7 Trooper Chris Lanham
Post 8 Trooper Toby Coyle
Post 9 Trooper Kerry White
Post 10 Trooper Kelley Farris
Post 11 Trooper John Root
Post 12 Trooper Jerry Wise
Post 13 Trooper Ben McCray
Post 14 Trooper Mark Padgett
Post 15 Trooper Bill Walsh
Post 16 Trooper Allen Lacey

Contact Information for the Kentucky State Police

Kentucky State Police
919 Versailles Road | Frankfort, KY 40601

[ TOP ]

This page was last modified on:

About this site | Feedback | Privacy | Disclaimer | Individuals with Disabilities
Copyright © 2002-2013 Kentucky State Police, all rights reserved